Charlottesville

I grew up in a small, rural county called King William, VA where there are only a few stoplights and my graduating class was only 130 people. When I went to UVA, I would dread going back home. I loved Charlottesville. There were things to do there, the school I loved was there, a life was there. Now, I work in Charlottesville and it is not the same. Most of my college friends are no longer here. They are all in DC, which is a 2.5 hour drive away and I hate driving all the way up there. The opportunity to meet new people is now smaller than it was in college. I don’t think there are a ton of young professionals here, but a lot of people disagree with me. I guess when I say “young professionals”  I mean single men with decent jobs and are around my age and are somewhat attractive and think that I am somewhat attractive. That is a very small pool of people, and I’ve pretty much come to the conclusion that I will not find someone in Charlottesville.

There are things I do love about Charlottesville even though I complain about it a lot. I really like the people I work with at the office. I can’t say I would get this type of work environment anywhere else. When I go to wineries, the views are really gorgeous and there a ton of great places to eat. It is close to my hometown, but not too close that my parents would drop by unexpectedly. The Farmer’s Market is pretty cool. So, there are some upsides to living in Charlottesville.

I want to love Charlottesville more than I do and I have recently been trying to get to know Charlottesville better. I don’t really see Charlottesville being my forever home since I will eventually want to move to another city, but never say never.

Capture

Leave a Reply

