You Know What Grinds My Gears

I got this idea from Family Guy where Peter Griffin does a news segment saying what really grinds his gears. Here is a clip of it below:

 

I don’t get annoyed by a ton of things, but I am human so there are things that grinds my gears or gets my goat. This is in no particular order.

1. Chewing With Your Mouth Open

When someone chews with their mouth open, it is like nails on a chalkboard. I can’t take it, but so many people do it that it is just something I have live with.

2. Double Standards

I grew up with two older brothers and I went through my whole life saying that is not fair because my parents gave me a different set of rules because of my gender. Don’t ever start a sentence with me saying “It’s different for….”

3. Saying I’m Not Black

Please, please, please don’t tell I am not Black because I don’t act the way you think Black people should act. I am very proud of who I am so don’t deny me my culture. I think it is extremely disrespectful. Also, it is 2016 and we should be over stereotypes by now.

4. Saying I’m Not Religious

Just because I am liberal doesn’t mean I am not a religious person.

5. Saying You Don’t Like Something And You Haven’t Even Tried It

Don’t say you don’t like a certain area or a certain restaurant if you have never been to it.

6. Intolerance

If you are against a certain race, sexual orientation, religion, and so on don’t even talk to me. Facebook has become an intolerant space so I will quickly unfriend someone because of their intolerant views.

7. Saying That You Are Not A Feminist

This is the definition of feminism:

 the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men.

The word is not taboo. If you believe that women should have the same rights as men, then guess what? You are a feminist.

8. When Apartments Don’t Allow “Aggressive” Breeds

I do believe dogs act a certain because of their owners. I would love to own a pitbull some day, but a lot of apartments don’t allow pitbulls. I have yet to meet a pitbull that wasn’t sweet.

9. Saying That Everyone Has The Same Opportunities

Not everyone starts with the same opportunities. People who grew up in a certain family or neighborhood don’t have access to the same opportunities. The picture below explains it all.

Well I hate to end with 9, but I couldn’t think of a 10th annoyance. Luckily, ending things on a weird number doesn’t bother me.

Leave a Reply

