Top 5 Trips

Below is a list of my top 5 trips. All the pictures are in slideshow format.

5. Seoul, Korea

In graduate school, there was a travel abroad component and I got to go to East Asia. I went to Tokyo, Kyoto, Seoul, Beijing, Shanghai, and Hong Kong. I may have been the only one on my trip that loved Seoul. Seoul wasn’t the prettiest city we visited, but the food gave me so much life. Everything was spicy and good. I had the best chicken wings ever in Korea. I didn’t get to eat as much Korean BBQ as I wanted to, which I regret so much.

I also visited the DMZ. I watched several Netflix documentaries about North Korea before my trip so I just found the whole thing fascinating. We went through tunnels that North Koreans dug underneath South Korea. And, there are probably tunnels that have yet to be discovered. Crazy!

We also went to Samsung and got free Samsung Level headphones and did a ton of cool interactive things.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4. New York City (Part 2)

I went to New York City a few months ago with my cousin and her mom. I talked about it in an earlier post so I am just going to list some highlights.

  • Fell in love with the play Hamilton without seeing the play.
  • Saw the Color Purple. Discovered that I love Broadway
  • Beyonce!!!!! I got in formation best believe.
  • Cousin time

I never thought I wanted to live in NYC, but after that trip I am more open to it.

In the video, please excuse my cousin’s singing. She sang at the top of her lungs the whole entire Beyonce concert. If you want to see more videos of the Beyonce concert, you will have to check out my Twitter page.

3. Venice, Italy

I went to Venice with my friend that I have known since Kindergarten, and Venice was one of the most unique cities I have ever been to. You can only get through the city by either boating or walking, and the food was fantastic. I was already a big pizza and pasta person so I was in heaven. Also, you can skip the gondola ride because it isn’t worth the money in my personal opinion.

I highly recommend doing a food and wine tour. You get a little tipsy, you get a full belly, you explore the city, and you meet new people.

Going to San Marco and seeing Dodge’s Palace is a must. Breathtaking architecture.

I don’t know if I would go back to Venice because I feel like I saw everything I needed to see, but it has definitely motivated me to see more of Italy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Chicago, IL

This trip was very close to being my favorite trip of all time. I went to Chicago with a group of my college friends and it was awesome. When we got to Chicago, the first thing we smelled were hot dogs. So, we followed the smell and found a huge hot dog place called Portillo shown below. I would say eating a Chicago hot dog is more important than eating a deep dish pizza.

The highlight of the trip was going to The Second City. They do improv and sketch comedy and it was very funny. Some well known folks that did The Second City include Dan Akroyd, John Belushi, Bill Murray, Keegan Michael-Key,Tina Fey, Steve Carell, and so on. Since we had such a great experience with that improv show we decided to go to another. We read reviews for this improv show about Disney princesses all living in one house like the Real World and it was located in the underbelly of Chicago. The reviews said it was terrible and guess what? It was God-awful. I rarely use the Lord’s name in vain, but it was that bad. I never felt so awkward, yet I didn’t regret seeing it.

We also went on an architecture boat tour. Now, that is all fun and good until you realize you are on a boat tour in March in Chicago. Cold, cold, cold.

Here is a list of other stuff we did in Chicago because we did a lot:

  • Chicago Zoo- Free!!!
  • Cloud Gate or The Bean
  • Navy Pier
  • Deep Dish Pizza and UVA March Madness basketball

And to top it all off, I got stuck in the Chicago airport for five hours because it decided to snow the day I had to go back home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. Paris, France

I went to Paris with the friend I also went to Venice with. We went on a European excursion to Mykonos, Venice, Barcelona, and Paris, which I probably should have explained earlier. Anyway, there was so much to see in Paris and it was just a gorgeous city. I would go back in a heartbeat. Also, shout out to the Air BnB lady who let me eat her soup and helped me use the microwave.

The highlight of the trip for me was doing a food and wine tour called Paris by Mouth. We walked to different stores to pick up food at each spot and then we ate and drank wine together with other people on the tour. All the food was good. Even the cheese and I don’t like cheese really.

We also saw the Eiffel Tower (we went all the way to the top), Notre Dame, the garden at Versailles, and the Chanel store.

I regret not going to Musée d’Orsay and the inside of the Louvre. Maybe next time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

