Top 10: Movies

I consider a film my favorite movie when I can watch it several times and never get tired of it. Movies on this list will not be cinema classics by any means except for maybe a few. I like well-made movies, but it is hard for me to watch them again because you already know the twist, it is too emotionally exhausting,  or it is just too dang long (one movie on this list is a pretty long movie).

Some of the clips contain spoilers so watch at you own risk.

10. Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: The Movie

I love the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. When I was younger, my aunt gave me a doll for Christmas and gave my brother a beautiful red Power Rangers action figure. I raised so much hell. “Why does he get that and I get a doll?” “I love the Power Rangers more than him.” My aunt has given me cash for Christmas ever since. Anyway, what makes this movie so great?

The movie is about a villain named Ivan Ooze who is trying to take over the world and he can only be stopped by the Power Rangers. This movie has action, drama, and romance. I would rather watch this movie over Citizen Kane any day. And, a remake is coming out next year and you best believe I will be in the theater as soon as it comes out.

 

2017 Trailer

 

9. The Back Up Plan

Remember when Jennifer Lopez acted in a ton of movies? Well, only like a handful of them were actually good. This movie was one of them. The Back Up Plan is about a single woman who decides to get artificially inseminated because she wants to have a kid. Well it ends up she is having twins and she ends up meeting the love of her life. He falls in love with her before she tells him she is pregnant and it is just them trying to figure it all out.

 

8. Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

This movie is so stupid that it is funny. It is Will Ferrell’s finest piece. It is about a race car drive named Ricky Bobby who has a new rival, a French Formula One driver played by Sacha Baron Cohen.

“If you’re not first, you’re last.”

 

7. Breaking Dawn Part 1

So, Twilight is my guilty pleasure. I know that it is garbage, but I really like this garbage. This movie (the fourth of the five movies) is about Bella having a baby by Edward, her vampire husband. It sounds so ridiculous just typing that out. I like this one more than the others because the acting is somewhat decent, there is more romance, and it has some angst (Edward doesn’t want the baby, the werewolves want to kill the baby). The scene when Bella breaks her back when the baby is about to come grosses me out me every time.

 

6. Bridesmaids

I really don’t need to explain the plot because everyone and their mom has seen this movie, but it is a woman named Annie who becomes the maid of honor for her best friend’s wedding. This is a really funny movie with a female cast. Don’t dare call it a chick flick. It is a movie that is in your face and says “hey women are funny, jerks, and everyone is going to laugh.”

The airplane scene and the scene when they are trying on dresses are phenomenal.

 

 

5. Forrest Gump

This is probably the only classic I have on this list. This movie follows a man’s life over several decades. He has a low IQ, but he influences a lot of major events in the 20th century. He is in love with Jenny, who I hate. Jenny had a rough childhood, but I did not like the way she treated Forrest. Anyway, great movie, but super long.

 

4. Crazy/Beautiful

One of my favorite romantic movies. It is about a troubled teenager who is born with a silver spoon in her mouth and she falls in love with a working-class, Mexican American student who is working hard in school in order to get into the Naval Academy. The girl doesn’t give a crap about anything except for this boy who is able to get her to stop doing stupid crap. The movie is romantic I promise.

 

3. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

This is one of those movies that I watch every time it comes on TV. I can’t count how many times I have watched this movie.This movie is about Scott who falls in love with this girl named Romana, and he has to fight her seven evil exes. It is like a live action video game, and it is just a super fun movie to watch.

 

2. This Is The End

This movie is so high on the list because I have never laughed through an entire movie like I did with This Is The End. This movie is about Seth Rogen and his friends pretty much playing themselves while the world is ending.

 

1. My Big Fat Greek Wedding

This is a great romantic comedy about this Greek woman named Toula in her 30s who has this huge Greek family. Her father wants her to marry a nice Greek boy, but of course she doesn’t. In comes Ian, a non-Greek vegetarian. The movie is really funny and really sweet. I adore this movie so much and it never gets old. The sequel also isn’t that bad.

 

 

 

Honorable Mentions: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Mr and Mrs Smith, Spice World, Sex and the City: The Movie

Leave a Reply

