Thoughts On Gilmore Girls: Seasons 1-7

To prepare myself for the new season of Gilmore Girls, I re-watched all 7 of the previous seasons. I started re-watching the episodes on October 30th so I had to watch 154 episodes in  26 days. That is 6 episodes a day and I did it with some days to spare. I wish I had that type of determination in other facets of my life.Anyway,  I just wanted to go over thoughts I had before and after re-watching the show.

Before: Dean is the worst
After: Dean is still the worst, but he didn’t start off that way

Dean was Rory’s first boyfriend and when he first came to the scene he wasn’t as dumb as they made him out to be in later seasons. I forgot that he actually came from Chicago and that he was a little edgy. He still ended up being the worst though. He like flipped out on Rory when he confessed his love for her and she didn’t say it back. He also dropped out of college and cheated on his wife. Dean did build Rory a car, but that was just too much and borderline creepy.

Before: Jess is not a jerk, he is just misunderstood
After: Jess is a jerk, but he grew up to be a better person and I like him more now than I did before

Jess came to Stars Hollow after his mom couldn’t handle him anymore and she sent him to live with his Uncle Luke. He was a troubled kid, but I didn’t realize before how much of a moody teenager he was. Re-watching the first few episodes he was in I was like “yikes, I am going to end up hating this person.” But, I soon realized that the reason I liked Jess so much was because of his interactions with Rory and how much they had in common. He softened up around her. Also, he went from being hostile toward Luke to actually opening up to him and allowing himself to let his guard down around him. He was one of the very few characters that had some character development as he actually grew up to make something of himself even though he made terrible decisions as a teenager.

Before: I don’t remember Marty being on the show
After: Poor Marty. I will never forget you

I don’t remember anything about Marty before re-watching the show. Marty was a guy that Rory met first year in Yale before she met Logan. Marty was so sweet and was so in love with Rory, but Rory only saw him as a friend. He was friend zoned so hard and I felt so bad for him. Rory was just all about Logan. Nice boys have no place in Gilmore Girls or any show really, which is kind of sad.

Before: I can’t stand Logan. He was so arrogant and didn’t really care for Rory
After: Logan is actually not that bad, and he treated Rory pretty well

Logan was Rory’s boyfriend when she was in Yale. Logan’s family was super rich, and Logan really did show his privilege every second of the show (ex. “We can stay at my family’s home in [insert location]”, “I can buy [insert object of desire] for you, “You can take my personal driver for the day). He slacked off a lot in school and often did rich boy shenanigans. After watching the episodes again, I realized he really did love Rory. I used to think that he cheated on Rory, but he actually didn’t. Rory thought they were on a “break”, but Logan thought they were over and I am on Logan’s side on this one. They appeared broken up to me. Also, Logan let her stay at his apartment when he was away in London rent free, treated her to really nice dates and things, and he tried to fit in when he visited Rory in Stars Hollow. He would do absolutely anything for Rory and I didn’t realize that before.

Before: I can’t stand April. She is the reason why Luke and Lorelai broke up
After: April is actually not that bad

April is Luke’s daughter that he didn’t know about for 12 years.  Luke wouldn’t let Lorelai get close to April because of concerns from April’s mother. This caused a rift. However, what I realized after watching the show again is that Lorelai doesn’t really communicate her displeasure of Luke not letting her get close to his daughter, so Luke has no idea how she is feeling.

Also, April herself wasn’t that bad for the following reasons:

  1. She never said anything bad about Lorelai.
  2. She wasn’t on that many episodes.
  3. She loved helping Luke around the diner.
  4. She had barely any bratty moments for a 12/13 year old.

Before: Rory can do wrong
After: Dang Rory you kind of suck

I used to think that Rory could do no wrong and even though she made terrible life decisions. Now, I realize that she isn’t that great. Everyone in her life hypes her up so much that she believes that she cannot fail, and when she does she can’t handle it and totally goes off the deep end. I don’t dislike Rory and I will always root for her success, but dang girl do better. Here a list of bad decisions made by Rory:

  1. Being hung up on Jess when she was still with Dean
    1. She pretty much should have broken up with Dean as soon as she realized she had feelings for Jess, but she just dragged it on until Dean had to break up with her in front of everybody. Embarrassing.
  2. Being Dean’s mistress
    1. These were dark days. Dean was never over Rory, which is why it was so easy for him to cheat on his wife. And I don’t really get Rory’s reasoning behind having an affair with a married Dean. It was a situation that made me feel icky about the both of them.
  3. Stealing a boat, dropping out of Yale, not speaking to her mom, living with her grandparents, and joining the DAR
    1. This all stemmed from Logan’s dad saying that she doesn’t have what it takes to be a journalist and she flips out. She gets Logan to help her steal a yacht, and they end up going to jail. Rory decides to drop out of Yale because one person told her she wouldn’t be a good journalist and her mom is rightfully mad at her about it. Rory decides to stop talking to her mom and move in with her grandparents who coddle her. She joins the Daughters of the American Revolution, which is some sort of uppity social club. She only snaps out of it when Jess comes back and tells her how dumb she is being.

Before and After: Wow, Lorelai I can’t believe you did that to Luke

The way Lorelai ended up marrying Christopher was even grimier than I remembered. After Lorelai insisted that her and Luke get married, Luke’s hesitation drove Lorelai to the arms of Christopher, Rory’s dad. And poor Luke goes to talk to Lorelai a few days later and tells her that he wants to marry her and that they should elope right then and there. To stop Luke from talking about them getting married, Lorelai confesses that she slept with Christopher. What made it worse was that she ended up marrying Christopher (they later get a divorce), which was cold-blooded.

Leave a Reply

