Where I Come From

I was born and raised in King William, VA. When I talk about King William, I am not talking about West Point which is a small town at the tip of King William County. West Point has a paper plant so that area is way more developed than the rest of the county. I just wanted to make that little disclaimer.

kw-pic

King William is a very rural place. We didn’t have a grocery store until I was in the fifth grade and when we did get a grocery store we threw a celebration (we also got a water tower around the same time). Also, we probably only have about two or three stoplights. There is never traffic in King William unless you get stuck behind a tractor.

kw2

This is our busiest intersection

The cool think about King William is that most of the people you graduate with are people you have known since kindergarten. My high school graduation class size was only 130 and I probably knew every single person I graduated with. When new kids came to King William, I was super fascinated because I didn’t understand why anyone in their right mind would want to move here. I mean King William is better than some of the other surrounding counties because it is close to Richmond aka civilization.

King William is kind of beautiful. The stars at night are so bright because there is no light pollution. Also, there are deer everywhere. It is cool when they are chilling in your front yard, but when you are driving at night and they pop out of nowhere then it is not so cool. I am surprised I haven’t hit a deer yet. Also, King William in the fall is gorgeous because there are so many trees.

A not so great thing about King William is that there are Confederate flags everywhere and people will claim that it has historical significance, but let’s be real. Also, when the Tea Party was a thing you would see Tea Party signs everywhere. Sure these folks will smile in your face, even make you believe that they are your friend, but don’t be fooled. I will never say that people in King William are not friendly and that they won’t take care of you, but many folks in King William can be pretty racist.The biggest racial issue in King William is interracial dating. That is a serious “no no” for some families, which is absurd.

King William is the type of place I knew that I didn’t want to get stuck in. Going to UVA opened me up to a world that I didn’t get to experience in King William. I interacted with people from different cultures, I ate food that I never had like Thai, I went to sporting events and concerts, and I made really close friends. King William is a safe place and I understand why people like it there. You could probably live your whole life never having to lock your door because either your neighbor lives a mile away or, if you live in a subdivision, you know everyone in the neighborhood. However, you are not exposed to much in King William.

My parents love King William. They still go to all the sporting events and our neighbors are pretty awesome I do have to say. Now that I think about it, I had a pretty great childhood in King William. All the neighborhood kids would come to house to play Hide and Seek or King of the Hill. We had so many toys to play with, and we played a sport every season. I couldn’t ask for a better childhood. But, King William has too many problems for me to ever want to live there. Here are some reasons.

  • The only fast food places in King William are Burger King, which is attached to a gas station, and Subway. There has been talks of a Bojangles.
  • There is not a place to buy clothes unless you buy your clothes from the Family Dollar or Dollar General. I don’t know why we have both.
  • There is nothing to do there. There is no form of entertainment whatsoever unless you like mud bogging. King William has no movie theater, no skating rink, no shopping center, nothing.
  • Did I mention the whole Confederate flag, Tea Party thing?
Leave a Reply

